Welcome to the Delegate Terri Hill Scholarship Application page!

Scholarships are offered as part of the Maryland Legislative Scholarship Program and available to students for financial assistance with the cost of post-secondary education (beyond high school i.e. college, career school, and graduate school) and are administered through the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC).  Rules regarding program eligibility, submission and processing of personal financial and other sensitive data, determination of final award amounts, and distribution of awards can be found at https://mhec.state.md.us.  The site also lists other grant and scholarship programs for which you may be eligible.

Below you will find the link to my Delegation Scholarship Application for the 2020-2021 academic year. To ensure consideration for the 2020-21 academic year, the completed application and required associated documents must be returned to my Annapolis Office by close of business on Friday, May 1, 2020.

This year we are offering an online application located here:

Fill out the 2020 Legislative Scholarship

Applications may also submitted via email using this downloadable form:

Download Application 


If you would prefer to print this form, submissions of completed applications are also accepted by fax (410-841-3197) or mail (6 Bladen Street #214, Annapolis, MD 21401).

Awards are not automatically renewed, so if you were awarded a scholarship last year and wish to be considered to receive one this year, you will need to re-apply.

Delegation Scholarships may be awarded for use at all in-state institutions and out-of-state institutions if the student’s major course of study is not being offered by a school in Maryland (Unique Major). If you plan to use the scholarship to attend a college out-of-state to pursue a Unique Major, you must have approval from the Maryland Higher Education Commission. The phone number to call is 410-767-3301 or you may visit the Maryland Higher Education Commission website here.

In order to apply for this Scholarship, the student must first file the free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and submit it before the March 10 deadline as outlined in the FAFSA booklet.

Applications will be scored by a committee of volunteers and awards made based on the funds available, number of applicants, and strength of each individual application.

Preference will be given to students who reside within the boundaries of the 12th Legislative District.

Awards are generally made by the end of June. In the case of High School Seniors, every effort is made to complete award determination decisions in time for the award to be announced at each school’s senior award ceremonies in May and June.

Some exceptions to application and award deadlines may be made in cases where the award is for a semester other than the fall.  Please contact us by email or phone if you are requesting an exception to the deadline. Please review the instructions carefully and include all of the requested documentation.

Should you have any questions or need further information, feel free to contact my office, terri.hill@house.state.md.us or 410-841-3378, with any questions, problems or concerns regarding the scholarship, application or process.


Thank you for your commitment to furthering your education and for taking the time to apply.

Terri L. Hill, M.D. 
Delegate – Maryland District 12, Baltimore and Howard Counties